Building a Better Main Street in Historic Reisterstown

The Louis S. Diggs Award

Community Pride
Monday, February 27, 2017 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Owings Mills Branch of the Baltimore County Public Library - 10302 Grand Central Ave, Owings Mills, MD 21117, USA
Honors for Respected Leaders in Baltimore County

Baltimore County Executive Kevin Kamenetz will announce the 2017 recipients of The Louis S. Diggs Award, an annual recognition event that takes place during Black History Month. The award is presented to individuals whose life work represents a commitment to the celebration of the African-American experience in Baltimore County.

The 2017 awardees are: 

Dr. Freeman Hrabowski, President, University of Maryland Baltimore County

Dr. Dallas Dance, Superintendent, Baltimore County Public Schools

Delegate Adrienne Jones, Speaker Pro Tem, Maryland House of Delegates

The award is named for Louis S. Diggs, a respected and distinguished authority on Baltimore County African-American history. Diggs’ research and historical perspective has guided him to publish 10 books; organize tours in the community; present lectures; and manage the Diggs-Johnson Museum in Granite.


Come enjoy the celebration!



All Dates

  • Monday, February 27, 2017 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM